New Digital Workflow and Camera

Yes yes, it’s been a long time since I’ve written here and I’m sure I’ve got tons of fascinating things to share.  But that’s not what we’re doing today.  Today is a special session to share some exciting news.  After a long time in the planning, about a month ago I purchased a new digital camera.  A Nikon D5000, to be more specific.  With it, I have 3 lenses now: a 35mm 1.8 prime, a 18-55mm wide angle zoom, and a 55-200mm telephoto zoom.  And yes that merits significant discussion in and of itself.  But no!  That is not today’s discussion.
 
I have finally decided on a new digital workflow after having troubled with the problem of generating 12-15 megabyte new images by the thousands for the last few weeks. 
 
First, starting today, I am going to start posting images here with a maximum single dimension of 2560 – so that the largest of monitors can be accomidated without quality loss and so that a full screen-click won’t take so long on a slower connection (like I have at work).  In addition to those "proofs", I will be keeping and storing the digital negatives (.dngs with my editing data) online in their full resolution with the totality of their image information retained.
 
Second: clearly, there have been a lot of new albums in the last month and I expect a significant more albums to be forthcoming over the next… period.  Accordingly, I realize that 100-200 picture albums are not for everyone.  Accordingly, I will be making an effort to choose my top favorites and move them towards the beginning of the albums so that those not interested in the full set can get a quick bite.  Also, while I have always been incredibly strict in limiting the number of pictures in the final albums, I will renew my efforts and try to reduce all redundant and unworthy shots.  Pretty much, if it makes in at this point, I want it there.
 
I’m excited about the new stage in my photographic career and I’ve been really encouraged by the output.  Moving to a better camera doesn’t make things easier – it makes them better – I can finally get most of what I want without being limited by the hardware. 
 
More discussion on photography, optics, post-processing, digital workflow to come 🙂  I haven’t forgotten my faithful readership.
 
Here’s a new album with some cute rats to start you out:
 
This entry was posted in Happenings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment